Eine kleine Pilgergruppe auf dem Wolfgangweg nach Altötting.
bell_white Hotel search

Wolfgang route from Regensburg to St. Wolfgang

Legendary tale about the Wolfgang route to Altötting

There is a fascinating legend about Bishop Wolfgang. He is said to have escaped armed conflicts in Regensburg to the Abersee. There at the Falkenstein he is said to have lived a hermit life on his own and fought battles with the devil. In the end he threw an ax into the valley and promised to build a church where it was found again. This church continues to attract numerous pilgrims to this day.

Die Falkenstein Kirche auf dem Wolfgangweg in Richtung Altötting.

Stages of the Wolfgang-Pilgrimage route

The Wolfgang Pilgrimage Route runs 274 km from the west crypt of St. Emmeram in Regensburg via the large Bavarian Marian pilgrimage site Altötting to St. Wolfgang in the Salzkammergut, where the namesake once had a church built. In Altötting, the Chapel of Grace with the famous Black Madonna has been an important pilgrimage destination for over 500 years. The last three stages in Austria are particularly scenic, as they run along Mondsee and Wolfgangsee.

Der Blick auf den Regensburger Dom auf dem Wolfgangsweg in Richtung Altötting.

12 Stages

Stage 1: Regensburg - Thalmassing, 18,7 km, 4,5 hours

Stage 2: Thalmassing - Mallersdorf, 23 km, 5,5 hours

Stage 3: Mallersdorf - Essenbach, 31 km, 7,5 hours

Stage 4: Essenbach - Landshut, 15,3 km, 3,5 hours

Stage 5: Landshut - Vilsbiburg, 26,5 km, 6,5 hours

Stage 6: Vilsbiburg - Neumarkt-Stankt Veit, 21,5 km, 5 hours

Stage 7: Neumarkt-Sankt Veit - Altötting, 28,5 km, 7 hours

Stage 8: Altötting - Burghausen, 17,1 km, 4 hours

Stage 9: Burghausen - Mattighofen, 31,2 km, 7,5 hours

Stage 10: Mattighofen - Irrsdorf, 24,1 km, 5,5 hours

Stage 11: Irrsdorf - Mondsee, 16,2 km, 4 hours

Stage 12: Mondsee - St. Wolfgang, 21 km, 5 hours

Eine kleiner Pilgergruppe auf dem Wolfgangweg nach Altötting.